Bhartiya Jnanpith Award 2012

Bhartiya Jnanpith Award

The Jnanpith award is given every year to the best creative writing by any Indian writer in  any of the  language given in schedule 8th of the Indian Constitution. It is the most important and prestigious award of the country for literary work . The award is conferred by Bhartiya Jnanpith, a literary and cultural organization set up in 1944, by the late Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain and his wife Shanti Jain. the Jnanpith award was instituted on May 22,1961. The first award was given first time in year 1965.

since its inception 38 prominent writers have recieved the award.

President Pranab Mukherjee  conferred this years 46th Jnanpith award on Kannada writer Chandrasekhar Kambar in Belgaum on Thursday.  Chandrashekhara (born January 2, 1937) is a prominent poet, playwriter, folklorist, film director in Kannada language and the founder-vice-chancellor of Kannada University in Hampi. He is known for his effective usage of North Karnataka dialect of Kannada language in his plays and poems and is often compared with D.R. Bendre.

Post By Simply Decoded (415 Posts)

Making sense out of chaos in this Complex World & helping people in understanding things in a better way.

Website: →