Some important terms of Land Utilisation


Geographical Area:
The latest figures of geographical area of the State/Union Territories are as provided by the Office of the Surveyor General of India.

Reporting Area for Land Utilisation Statistics :
The Reporting area stands for the area for which data on land use classification are available. In areas where land utilization figures are based on land records, reporting area is the area according to village papers, i.e. the papers prepared by the village accountants. In some cases, the village papers may not be maintained in respect of the entire area of the State. For example, village papers are not prepared for the forest areas but the magnitude of such area is known. Also there are tracts in many States for which no village paper exists. In such cases, estimates of classification of area from agricultural census, 1995-96 and 2000-01 are adopted to complete the coverage.

Forest Area :
This includes all land classified either as forest under any legal enactment, or administered as forest, whether State-owned or private, and whether wooded or maintained as potential forest land. The area of crops raised in the forest and grazing lands or areas open for grazing within the forests remain included under the “forest area”. These areas are further divided into ‘Protected Forests’, ‘Reserved Forests’ and Unclassified forests. Forest cover is a term used to define a geographical area which is more than 1 hectare and have forest cover canopy more than 10%. So as a conclusion forest area is a term associated with the legal classification whereas forest cover is associated with geographical characteristic.

Area under Non-agricultural Uses :
This includes all land occupied by buildings, roads and railways or under water, e.g. rivers and canals, and other land put to uses other than agriculture.

land use

Barren and Un-culturable Land :
This includes all land covered by mountains, deserts, etc. Land which cannot be brought under cultivation except at an exorbitant cost is classified as unculturable whether such land is in isolated blocks or within cultivated holdings.

Permanent Pasture and other Grazing Land:
This includes all grazing land whether it is permanent pasture/meadows or not. Village common grazing land is included under this category.

Land under Miscellaneous Tree Crops, etc. :
This includes all cultivable land which is not included in ‘Net area sown’ but is put to some agricultural use. Land under casuring trees, thatching grasses, bamboo bushes and other groves for fuel, etc. which are not included under ‘Orchards’ are classified under this category.

Culturable Waste Land:
This includes land available for cultivation, whether taken up or not taken up for cultivation once, but not cultivated during the last five years or more in succession including the current year for some reason or the other . Such land may be either fallow or covered with shrubs and jungles which are not put to any use. They may be accessible or inaccessible and may lie in isolated blocks or within cultivated holdings.

Current Fallows:
This represents cropped area which is kept fallow during the current year. Due to many reasons like non availability of water or nutrient recharge etc.

Fallow Lands other than Current Fallows :

This includes all land which was taken up for cultivation but is temporarily out of cultivation for a period of not less than one year and not more than five years.

Net Area Sown:
This represents the total area sown with crops and orchards. Area sown more than once in the same year is counted only once.

Gross Cropped Area:
This represents the total area sown once and/or more than once in a particular year, i.e. the area is counted as many times as there are sowings in a year. This total area is also known as total cropped area or total area sown.

Area Sown more than once:
This represents the areas on which crops are cultivated more than once during the agricultural year. This is obtained by deducting Net Area Sown from Gross Cropped Area.

Irrigated Area:
The area is assumed to be irrigated for cultivation through such sources as canals (Govt. & Private), tanks, tube-wells, other wells and other sources. It is divided into two categories:
(i) Net Irrigated Area: It is the area irrigated through any source once in a year for a particular crop.

(ii) Total Net Un-irrigated Area: It is the area arrived at by deducting the net irrigated area from net sown

(iii) Total/Gross Irrigated Area: It is the total area under crops, irrigated once and/or more than once in a year. It is counted as many times as the number of times the areas are cropped and irrigated in a year.

(iv) Total/Gross Un-Irrigated Area: It is the area arrived at by deducting the gross irrigated area from the gross sown area.

(v) Cropping Intensity: It is the ratio Total Cropped Area to the Net Sown Area.

(i) Agricultural Land/Total Culturable Land /Total Cultivable Area:
This consists of net area sown, current fallows, fallow lands other than current fallows, culturable waste land and land under miscellaneous tree crops.
(ii)Total Un-Cultivable Area/Land:
It is the area arrived at by deducting the total cultivable area from the total reported area.
(iii) Total Cultivated Area/Land:
This consists of net area sown and current fallows.
(iv) Total Un-Cultivated Area/Land:
It is the area arrived at by deducting the total cultivated area from the total reported area.


Post By Simply Decoded (417 Posts)

Making sense out of chaos in this Complex World & helping people in understanding things in a better way.

Website: →